Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Each night the tour bus rolls down the highway, bound for another town or state. At any given time there are 6-10 people sleeping in the bunks that we call “coffins” due to their suffocatingly small size. The first night was the worst as I tried to get used to sleeping on a moving bus. I woke up with cold sweats, nausea and got barely any sleep. But like anything in life, you learn to adjust. Time blurs together and it’s easy to lose track of the hours and the days. Sometimes it feels like it’s been a year, sometimes a week. I guess this is what living on the road is like.

This group has become like a little family, with lots of cutting up, laughs and stories. I am the only female, one girl with a whole pack of older brothers. Some days are more challenging than others. Fighting for the remote or the mirror so I can do my makeup or turn off ESPN mark only a few of the differences between being a female and male. However, the experiences I have been blessed with on this trip are ones I will always treasure. We have seen the movie so many times that we quote it in everyday conversations at least 10 times a day.  Every day is filled with so much laughter your sides burn and your eyes water.

Before I got on the tour bus I asked Darryl if it was already stocked and he told me not to worry that there was plenty of food. I soon discovered that food in a guy’s mind equals M&M’s, chips and beer. Bringing protein bars and febreeze was a great decision on my part. Bottom line is I get super excited any time we have a real meal or get my Starbucks fix.

I’ve been lucky to see parts of this country that I never have before. I have touched the Alamo, walked down Bourbon in the rain, looked over South Beach from 30 stories up. I have had the chance to meet people from all walks of life. There’s nothing like looking into a child’s wonderstruck eyes and encouraging them and telling them that the possibilities are endless. Some of the stories I’ve heard from audience members will always stay with me. I think it’s important for us to step out of our comfort zone and to push ourselves. Go places you’ve never gone. See things you’ve only seen in photographs and movies. Talk to people you’ve never met and really listen to what they have to say. We are all in this world together and we all have the capacity to impact a life. The choice is yours to be a light. Someone said to me on this tour “Be the kind of person you want to meet.”

We have the choice everyday wether or not we will be a light or if we will add to the darkness. Even the smallest words and gestures have an impact.

Until next time,

Love & Light,

LJ

